5
\$\begingroup\$

The following are all related or relatively similar questions about effects that deal damage without specifying a type being combined with effects that deal multiple types of damage at once:

Are any of these duplicates of each other? Worth noting, the second was recently closed as a duplicate of the first.

\$\endgroup\$
1
6
\$\begingroup\$

No; some of them might have the same answer, but the questions are about different specific features.

doppelgreener's answer to the linked Q&A If an answer to question A can be found in question B, should we close A as duplicate of B? says:

We close Question A as a duplicate of Question B only when all of the following is true:

  • It's the same question, or Question A is already covered obviously as a subset of Question B. Obvious here means I can tell at a glance it's there.
  • Question B has an obvious answer to Question A. Obvious here means I get a straightforward answer without hard searching — a couple of sentences buried in the middle of a post, or an answer which only sort of implies an answer to Question A, doesn't count as obvious.
  • There is not some strong compelling reason to covering Question A alone, separately from Question B. (If the above bullet points are met this rarely happens.)

The idea here is it's the same question with an obvious answer. Someone redirected from Question A to B can see obviously why they were redirected and find a satisfactory answer.

In the case of the questions you're asking about, they're about different specific features/cases. They might have the same answer, but they're not quite the same question. As such, they're not actually duplicates of one another.

If there is a general rule in D&D 5e that addresses all the specific variants of this issue, it might make sense to have a canonical Q&A that addresses that general case, and close the others as duplicates of it, as was done in the following case: What, if anything, should we do about these D&D 5e multiclass spellcasting questions about spell slots?

However, in this case, there is no such general rule. In fact, several of the Q&As you linked rely on the wording of the specific feature in question; some of them note that there is no such general rule on this matter (and thus have to rely on material from outside the rules to support resolving the issue a certain way). As such, even a canonical Q&A for the general case of "What damage type does extra damage do when it's not specified?" would probably not be a good fit here.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I would also like to add that the question about the Zealot Barbarian actually has a different answer as well. \$\endgroup\$ – Weasemunk Dec 4 '20 at 14:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Weasemunk: Yep! That's the main one I was thinking of when I said "several of the Q&As you linked rely on the wording of the specific feature in question". \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Dec 4 '20 at 21:28

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .