Can any creature elect to make touch attacks or ranged touch attacks? is a terrific question and it deserves the critical attention it is getting.
However, that brings forth a very good conundrum brought forth by the comments in one of the answers. Regarding rules there could be an Open rule interpretation, and a Closed rule interpretation.
SevenSidedDie stated:
"Closed" is where only actions chosen from what the rules offer are legal (i.e., inputs must derive from and stay within the system: a closed system), while "open" is where actions are attempted and rules picked to implement them (i.e., inputs may come from outside the rules: an open system). Put another way, which view is operating in this Q&A: "the rules must explicitly permit touching someone in combat for someone to do so", or "you want to touch them? OK, we can resolve that using the touch attack rules…"?
So, is using the Open-Rules-Mindset appropriate for RP.SE or is Closed-Rules-Mindset appropriate? Are they both appropriate? How should they documented?