I can't clearly understand why my answer to What reasons have the designers given for why unarmed strikes aren't 'light melee weapons'? was downvoted and deleted. How could I make the answer eligible?
The OP asked:
Given that Unarmed Strikes do not have the light property, this implies that you can't use your bonus action to attack with them. Unless you're a monk. However, why is that?
Mechanically speaking, why can you attack twice with two daggers, but you can't attack with a dagger and then punch, or even punch twice?
From my point of view, the confusion arises when you treat "unarmed strike" as a single punch with left or right hand (hence "why can't I punch twice" question - pretty logical, since you have two hands). OP was asking about kind of a special rule, that explicitly restricts unarmed strikes.
So my answer was based on the official Basic Rules, which says
Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons). On a hit, an unarmed strike deals bludgeoning damage equal to 1 + your Strength modifier.
The OP asked for any "stated reasoning behind this rule". That was the reasoning - since "Unarmed strike" is a not a term for hitting with one (left or right) hand, but for making an attack when being unarmed, you still make a single attack per action (unless something - a specialized weapon or a special class feature - gives you more opportunities). Mechanically, there are no other special rules or restrictions here.
In contrast, "Light" weapon property is explicitly about two-weapon combat:
A light weapon is small and easy to handle, making it ideal for use when fighting with two weapons.
So it's not about just having two hands. It's the weapon that actually gives you an opportunity for a more dangerous attack:
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand.
However, the answer was deleted with a comment "New answers still need to be an answer to the question asked".
Is there any reasons for undeleting the answer, or is it really off-topic?