I've read the linked-to thread three times now, and I still am not clear on the answer to my question. There are at least four distinct possibilities:
- The rules are clear - no, this cannot be done no matter the height.
- The rules are clear - yes, this can be done (from at least height X).
- The rules are not clear, but there is an easy answer. A wise DM would rule that this can be done in such-and-such a way.
- The rules are not clear and there is no easy answer, so this is subject to DM ruling on a case-by-case or campaign-by-campaign basis, and here is some useful information from the rulebooks to provide a context for that ruling.
Having read the thread, I have only been able to rule out #1 as a possibility. 2, 3, and 4 all seem like possibilities (although #2 seems less likely).
My point is -- the linked-to thread doesn't answer the question in a satisfying way. It appears to have answered that question to the satisfaction of the poster there, but I'm still at a loss on how to rule my question regarding a move action and a swift action.
Perhaps I am just dense -- is it clear to you guys how to rule my question?
If not, how do I go about skillfully using this question-and-answer site to get the answer to my question?