23

Nope, leave it in place. Someone could search with phrasing more similar to what you used than the original. See : SE Meta: If your question is closed as a duplicate, should you delete it? SE Meta: Do not delete good duplicates!


20

We should not actively delete duplicates. But we also should err on the side of respecting a poster’s wishes. I do not think it would be remotely appropriate to undelete a self-deleted question without a much more compelling reason than “well dupe signpost...” If they had left it we should not delete it, but as they have deleted it we should not undelete ...


16

Helpfully, we've got an objective frame of reference available: the system automatically deletes questions under certain conditions. I'll summarise the points relevant to this discussion (leaving aside spam etc), but you can find the full details at that link under the "By the system" heading. A question gets deleted if it is unlocked and meets one of these ...


16

In this case, the question should be undeleted Full disclosure: I cast the undelete vote mentioned on the question (before seeing this meta post). My reasoning was following the help section on deleting questions, namely the following part: If your question has good answers, though, it's not fair to have those answers removed along with your question: ...


15

No You should not delete questions closed as a duplicate. Those serve as signposts to the primary question and can help those thinking of the question in a different way discover it. You could delete questions closed for other reasons - but why? If the system wanted them deleted for being closed, they’d get deleted once on hold turns to closed. Note ...


12

I deleted the question in... question. Sorry, I didn’t even see this meta before I did it, I was just responding to multiple flags on the Q and mod message discussion. But the question(s) were a mess of many iterations of edit by many people, hostile discussion and argument, ending in the OP’s suspension. There was little there of value to anyone. While ...


11

We do not delete questions on request When you submit material to the site you grant the site an irrevocable license to use the material, forever. We do not remove material on request, and especially not when others have put work into submitting their own material as answers. Your question currently does not meet our rules for being deleted, and so it will ...


10

Deleted questions are visible to those with over 10k rep but only if you have a direct link to it. They do not show up in listings and are not searchable because of the sensitivity of deleted content. That said, I checked your history: of the comments you've made in the past 2 weeks, none of them were made on a question that is now deleted.


10

Since this would require SE-wide changes to the site's functionality, I went to meta.se to see if it's been suggested there. It has. Ironically the question itself was closed as a duplicate--the two questions whose answers also address that particular question are definitely worth reading--but not before a couple answers were provided. The reason we ...


9

From the FAQ: The system will automatically delete any question (and its answers) or answer with a score less than 0 when its owner's account is deleted. One of those posts scores < 0, the other does not.


8

The question was deleted at the request of the original poster. In large part because it was cross posted on another stack. You can find the stat.se version of the question here: https://stats.stackexchange.com/questions/174099/how-to-calculate-the-probability-of-the-outcome-of-this-convoluted-dice-rolling


7

You can edit deleted posts other than your self-deleted questions You can find this clarified in this general meta post: No one can edit a locked post. The author of a deleted post can edit it unless it is a self-deleted question or locked as noted in #1. Folks with full editing rights can edit any deleted post except those restricted by #1 or #2. ...


7

I don't usually like to vote to delete content that could be helpful to other users. The reason you can't delete the question yourself is because of the answers to the question. Clearly, enough users thought it was helpful enough to answer (and upvote those answers) so in order for it to be deleted, a number of the site's trusted users or a mod would have to ...


6

There is no regular way to do that, sorry. Once you have 10k reputation you'll be able to see deleted posts and this won't be an issue, but before then you won't be able to see replies like this. However, poking into your comment history, the comment you were notified about was bringing to your attention our policy of not answering in comments: Should ...


6

Is this the one?: Is the way my GM is using smite correct? I've added back the tag. It likely expired on account of not having a description, so I've added one. (There are no deleted questions about Advanced Fighting Fantasy.)


6

Sure, I've deleted it. Enjoy. Keep in mind that we don't always delete questions at the OP's request - there's a reason the system doesn't allow that after there's upvoted answers. Maybe you've given up on a question but it's not yours any more, it's the community's. But, in this case, it was still closed and highly downvoted, and there were only 2 low ...


4

As the other 2 answers have already mentioned you can find your most recently deleted questions by going to your profile's "activity" tab, selecting "questions", scrolling to the bottom and clicking the link that says "deleted recent questions". This, however, only works for questions deleted in the past 60 days. There is one other way to view your own ...


4

Questions tend to be closed for one of two reasons: The question is unclear, not a question, or in some other way not answerable in its present form. The question cannot be answered on SE because of how SE is designed to work. The first case is hopefully something that you would catch on the way down. In the second case, though, you have supposedly ...


3

You lose reputation from upvotes. If you were the asker of the question, all reputation changes (both positive & negative) from the question disappear. If you edited the question, those 2 points will not disappear; they reward you for contributing to the site (by cleaning up questions & answers), not for contributing to that specific question.


2

Undelete it Please see this relevant meta question, which indicate that content once posted nominally belongs to the site, and that high rep users can vote to undelete much as they can vote to delete.


2

Potential X-Y Problem and setting expectations You may be looking at an X-Y problem, but I'm not sure that's the case. Understanding why you are looking for this list may be a better way for the site to focus on helping you write a question that's useful for yourself AND for others. Asking for a developing specific item If you have a specific item you're ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible